Being An Apron Wearing Feminist

I am a feminist. It’s not something I really mention in the same way I don’t drop snippets like “I’m not a racist” or “I’m a brown person.” Call me crazy but I believe wanting equal rights for men and women should be a given. Why state the obvious! 4baea1561eae26f2ce0c46abb842f5af But sometimes it seems that old stereotypes die hard and for some reason feminism is still a dirty word. The misconception that to be a feminist is to hate men is outdated and bloody ridiculous. It’s about equality and that’s equality for both sexes. Emma Watson summed it up perfectly with the launch of the HeForShe campaign. HeForShe is a solidarity movement for gender equality that brings together one half of humanity in support of the other half of humanity, for the benefit of all. But it’s not just men that need to get on board for equality to be achieved. Stereotypes of what defines a feminist come from both sexes and until those are dispelled, equality will remain in the distance. To paraphrase Zooey Deschanel, “We can’t be feminine and be feminist and be successful? I want to be a feminist and wear a peter pan collar, so fucking what?” Not only do I share her endless love for peter pan collars (lets face it, they’re fricking adorable) but the I love the message she’s pushing here. If you think feminism is a byword for hating men, hating femininity and living a hateful androgynous existence then it’s time to wake up and smell the Chanel No. 5. I’m all for baking a dozen cupcakes. I like my high heels, my lipstick and rocking a full skirt. Caring for my husband is important to me. Does that mean I’m not a feminist? Does it hell! Being equal means equal choices and you can choose to be whomever you want. And I am an apron wearing feminist. 1298a3baaa51e53af9ff0e184199fc8e

2 comments

Leave a Reply

